ACOPA Honors Michael B. Preston with Edward E. Burrows Distinguished Achievement Award

By ASPPA Net Staff • August 23, 2017 • 0 Comments
The ASPPA College of Pension Actuaries (ACOPA) honored Michael B. Preston, FSPA, EA, MAAA with the 2017 Edward E. Burrows Distinguished Achievement Award at the ACOPA Actuarial Symposium held in Chicago Aug. 18-19.

The Edward E. Burrows Distinguished Achievement Award is presented annually to a pension actuary who has gone above and beyond in forwarding ethics, education, beneficial legislation or regulations that enhance the private pension system or the professionalism of enrolled actuaries within the private pension system.

“Mike Preston’s history of service to the actuarial profession made him an obvious choice to receive the Ed Burrows Award.” said Joe Nichols, former president of ACOPA and chair of the Ed Burrows Award Committee.

Mike is currently President and Chief Actuary of Preston Actuarial Services, Inc. Mike has been an Enrolled Actuary for over three decades, and an ASPPA member since 1988. During this time, Mike has served in many volunteer capacities, including as a member of the ASPPA Board of Directors, editor of the Pension Actuary, and member of the Actuarial Standards Board Pension Committee. Mike served as President of the College of Pension Actuaries at the time the combination with ASPPA occurred, and became the first President of ACOPA. Mike is a frequent speaker at ASPPA, ACOPA and other actuarial conferences, and is the founder of ACOPA’s member-only listserve — an invaluable resource for hundreds of enrolled actuaries.

About ACOPA: The ASPPA College of Pension Actuaries (ACOPA) is part of the American Retirement Association. ACOPA is responsible for identifying and addressing the professional development needs of the organization’s actuarial membership, preparing formal comments, position papers, and other relevant pronouncements involving federal regulatory authorities and standard setting bodies, and carrying out ASPPA’s responsibilities as one of the recognized U.S.-based actuarial organizations.